Kitty Teppo
Kitty Teppo

My name is Kitty Teppo I am training and fighting for Tiger Muay Thai & MMA Training camp.

I am a BJJ Blue Belt under Marko Leisten FinnFighters’ Gym/Hilti Turku Finland. I have competed in Finland at the Finnish Open, Finnish Championships and in smaller competitions before I moved to Thailand. Since being in Thailand I have done the NeverTap tournament, Indonesian Grappling Championships, Abu Dhabi World Jiu jitsu Championship trials in Kuala Lumpur and the Pan Asians in Manila.

My next competition is the Thailand Open in Bangkok on the 27th and 28th October. I will be competing in Gi and No-Gi.

Training is going well. I have been mainly rolling Gi with my training partner Stuart Cooper who is a purple belt under Lucio “Lagarto” Rodrigues. We have been drilling techniques and doing a lot of sparring.

For strength and conditioning I train CrossFit every day and I also spend time on the rowers and the bikes to improve my cardio.

I’m pretty confident that I’ll do well in the competition. Its mainly the same girls that compete in this area and I’ve seen them roll or gone against them in comps earlier this year. Unfortunately there aren’t that many girls competing so my division is going to be an Open weight class in both Gi and No-GI. I have bad luck in the draw I might go up against a much bigger girl and that might mess with my game plan. Even though people say size doesn’t matter, sometimes it does.

My expectations are to get a medal in both Gi and No-Gi and just to have fun. See where my level of jiu jitsu is at and find out what areas I need to work on and improve.

